Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Want With Me on a Deserted Island

Top Ten Tuesday is a link up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is “Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island”. So, without further ado, and based solely on my own arbitrary opinions, ten characters I would love to spend some more time with (in no particular order):

  1. Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter series): come on, you know Luna would at least be good for entertainment. 🙂
  2. Jessica Darling (Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty): Jessica is super creative and witty; she would be fun to talk to.
  3. Zuzana and Mik (Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor): these two are HILARIOUS. They provide so much comic relief to a very serious trilogy; hopefully they would do the same on a deserted island.
  4. Alanna (Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce): Alanna is a badass female knight, which makes this choice mostly practical; she can protect me from danger and hunt for our food.
  5. Atticus Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird): I would just love to pick Atticus’ brain.
  6. Chris McCandless (Into the Wild): There’s a lot I want to ask Chris, and he too would be good for conversation. I wouldn’t let him gather our food though… 😉
  7. Katniss (Hunger Games): more practical reasons such as protection and food.
  8. John Green (author, not character, I’m bending the rules here): He seems like a smart and funny guy, he could probably keep my brain sharp on a deserted island by teaching me about history or quizzing me on classic literature.
  9. ….I’m out of ideas.

Interestingly, I find myself drawn to quirky secondary characters, rather than main characters of novels. Secondary characters often have more laughter and life; they aren’t burdened the way main characters so often are. But, I think that is a topic for another post.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Want With Me on a Deserted Island

  1. These are unique choices. I like them and you make a really good point about secondary characters. It seems to be much easier to create a likable secondary character, than a consistently likable main character.

    • I think it’s the nature of main characters; there always the ones with the weight of the world on them and by definition are more complex than secondary characters. Secondary characters just get to have more fun!

    • Yeah I think it’s mostly because main characters are so burdened with all the problems in the story and they have to make all the hard decisions while the secondary characters get to have more fun!

  2. Pingback: Sidekick Characters | Read Easy

Leave a Reply

