Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Own the Most Books From

Top Ten Tuesday is a link up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is “Ten Authors I Own The Most Books From”. I feel like this could get embarrassing, but here we go:

  1. Tamora Pierce (12): several YA fantasy series written in the 80’s, 90’s and early 00’s; I read these as a child and they are responsible for my love of fantasy.
  2. J.K. Rowling, the Harry Potter series (10, including two copies of book 4, as well as Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages)
  3. John Green (6): contemporary-YA mega-superstar-author-extraordinaire. But seriously, I love his books.
  4. Maud Hart Lovelace (6): I grew up reading and rereading and re-rereading the Betsy-Tacy series, and these books have become something of a security blanket for me. I return to them when I need to read something comfortable, cathartic, and familiar.
  5. Megan McCafferty (5): I wish Jessica Darling was my best friend.
  6. George R.R. Martin (4): while I own the first four Game of Thrones books, I have only read through the third — I just couldn’t get into the fourth and gave up.
  7. Jane Austen (4): original chick-lit; I went though a phase in high school and bought these, but Pride and Prejudice is the only one I’ve read more than once and really love.
  8. Barbara Kingsolver (3): Prodigal Summer is my favorite, but I also own The Poisonwood Bible and The Bean Trees
  9. the Dear America series (technically each novel is by a different author, but I own at least 20 of these from my childhood, so I’m counting them.) This series began my love for historical fiction.
  10. Ann M. Martin, The Babysitter’s Club (I’m including this one even though I don’t actually own all my Babysitter’s Club books anymore.) This series was my First Great Book Obsession, and I think I owned nearly every single one – easily over 100. Thanks Mom and Dad for funding the madness!
  11. BONUS: Shakespeare (because I own his collected works), but let’s be honest here, I’m not reading Shakespeare in my free time, aaaaand I bought this for my Shakespeare courses in college. I’m not sure it counts.

As I compiled this list, I realized that the majority of the books on this list were purchased when I was in grade school and high school – a.k.a. when my parents bought most of my books. I didn’t realize how much I’ve slowed my book-buying habit, because it honestly still seems like I buy a lot of books, and they’re kind of taking over all the horizontal spaces in my home. But, I guess I rely on the library much more than I realized these days!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Own the Most Books From

  1. I found a lovely pink leather Pride & Prejudice, with quotes embossed in the cover, and I bought it even though I already had a perfectly good paperback of the book. Though I’m slowly working my way through the rest of her works, I haven’t found one I love as much as P & P.

Leave a Reply

