Reading, lately

Reading? What?

As a high school English teacher, my reading life changes drastically in late August. It’s hard to keep up a 3-4 book a week reading momentum when you have a full-time job and are drowning in essays on the weekends. Blah, blah, teacher complaints. Plus, Netflix added the entire Gilmore Girls series and re-watching that has been on the top of my free time priority list. 😉

I’m adopting a quick-review structure today called Twitterature, thoughtfully conceived by another voracious reader over at Modern Mrs. Darcy. The only rule is to write a book review in 140 characters or less. Here’s what I’ve been reading, lately.

 August

  • All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness:  Witches, vampires, daemons, oh my! This one has time travel, true love, and battle scenes; there is something for every type of fantasy fan.
  • Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce: As a childhood Tamora Pierce fan, this was a bit of a letdown. Probably because it’s about animals and I am not an animal lover. (Try Song of the Lioness quartet instead.)
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak [for work]: A beautifully written tale of a young German girl finding the true power of words during World War II. I cannot recommend this enough.
  • Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins: Fluffy, silly YA, but extremely satisfying. Perkins writes very realistic characters and I can often see my students (and myself!) in her books.

September

  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer [for work]: Nonfiction account of Chris McCandless’s tragic foray into the Alaskan wild. I especially love the excerpts of books Chris thought were important, as well as his own journal writing.
  • Isla and the Happily Every After by Stephanie Perkins: The “sequel” to Lola above (different characters); very similar and equally satisfying.
  • Outlander: by Diana Gabaldon: I love me a good time-traveling romance, and this does not disappoint. Don’t be put off by the length, it is so worth the time commitment.

October

  • Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander #2) by Diana Gabaldon: Still working on this one. I don’t love it quite as much as Outlander (some slow parts 1/4 of the way in), but I’m still invested in the characters.

 

On the docket for November/December (I rarely stick to “to-read” lists, but these are all in a pile next to my couch sooo….maybe I’ll read them?)

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Adiche
  • Accursed by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Don’t You Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King
Leave a Reply

